Merry Christmas and A belated Happy New Year

Christmas and New Year is funny time. It is a time to reflect, a time to share with family and with friends, and a time to celebrate our achievements over 365 days. However often this time of year for others is spent feeling a loss. There are many people, sadly out there who do not have family members to celebrate with. There are families who had planned a beautiful Christmas for their children and have had things stolen. This is a time of year where I like to give back. On Christmas day I was travelling from my father’s house to my grandmothers on the train and there was an elderly lady in my carriage with a Zimmer frame. When the train came to her stop she couldn’t get to the doors in time before the train started to move again. She was utterly distraught and looked lost for as to how she would get to her destination. I looked around the carriage and people just seemed frozen, I thought to myself “ is no-one going to help this woman.?” I got out of my seat and went over to her and offered her some cash for a taxi at the next stop. Other people on the train looked at me as if to say “why would you do that.” I couldn’t understand why it was so difficult for people to at least get up and help her. I would like to think in the not so distant future we could turn into a society that trusts each other again and doesn’t see helping strangers as such a task, perhaps if we were all a little more selfless and a little less selfish the world would be a better place. I’m not trying to be a preaching greeny here just saying it how it is. I look forward to paying it forward this year, perhaps not necessarily financially but at least even as that person who smiles to the other person on the street and makes there day. Happy 2015 everyone and may your new years resolutions hold fast and be completed.

Leave a comment